Printer Friendly, PDF & Email

Assuring compliance with federal governance requirements for FQHC boards

Listen to article
13 minute read

For more than 55 years, community health centers have provided comprehensive, culturally competent, high-quality primary care healthcare throughout the United States. Health centers are community-based and patient-directed organizations that deliver primary healthcare services to millions of people regardless of their ability to pay: “In 2021, health centers achieved a historic milestone of serving more than 30 million people . . . including one in three people living in poverty and one in five rural residents.”[1]

As designated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) receive federal grants under section 330 of the Public Health Service Act (PHS Act) (42 U.S.C § 254b).[2]

Oversight of FQHCs is conducted by the Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC), which is one of the six branches of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. “HRSA funds nearly 1,400 health centers and approximately 100 health center program look-alike organizations, collectively operating more than 14,000 service delivery sites in communities across the country.”[3]

This document is only available to members. Please log in or become a member.

Would you like to read this entire article?

If you already subscribe to this publication, just log in. If not, let us send you an email with a link that will allow you to read the entire article for free. Just complete the following form.

* required field